Confession

Fresh Start

So… it’s been a while. To say that the blog posts as of late have been less than frequent would be an understatement. I feel as though the last few months have been a whirlwind and unfortunately, the chaos took me away from this forum for a while. During the mayhem I decided to make a few changes. A big issue surrounding the scarcity of material was that I just didn’t know what to write. Though my diet is still 90% plant based I have decided to reintroduce eggs and on occasion, fish. It was a change that made sense for me ( though I know that not everyone will agree). I took me a while to adjust after being a “vegan” for so long. I had a hard time with trying to redefine my diet. What was I now? Did I fit into a neat new category? What would everyone think? These fears prevented me from posting. I didn’t know how I would be received. Currently, I choose not to subscribe to any labels. I still very much believe in the benefits of a plant based diet and opt for whole organic foods when possible.

Many people have asked me what spurred this change… I know that it must seem strange to wake up on a Saturday and order the eggs at brunch when you have rocked the tofu quiche for the past five years (don’t get me wrong, I still love my tofu quiche). As most of you know I started a new job this year. A huge part of my job required travelling both nationally and internationally. From the beginning, my decision to go “vegan” was founded in my health issues and ironically enough, I realized that in an attempt to stay healthy on the road I was turning to very unhealthy versions of plant based alternatives. Believe it or not, healthy, balanced plant based meals aren’t always a priority in service stops ( shocking I know). I soon learned that my intestines rebelled against these oil laden, deep fried and heavily processed foods. I knew these choices weren’t good for me but there is only so much iceberg lettuce a girl can eat – something wasn’t working. As it turned out, small portions of baked fish with heaping portions of veggies went down better than sweet potato fries and vegetable omelettes didn’t hurt as much loading up on plain toast ( gluten and I still aren’t quite friendly). It got to a point where I realized that supplementing my diet with these options while travelling actually worked better for me than forcing down over salted prepackaged nuts after an unsatisfying main of wilted flavourless “vegetables”. This realization was the catalyst for my dietary changes.

Now, as I mentioned, I still subscribe to a primarily plant based diet and only opt to supplement with eggs and fish on occasion. The recipes on this blog will reflect this. I had been afraid to post anything for fear that I would give something away and that I would be rejected but the cat is out of the bag and I am excited to reconnect with my passions.

I hope that you continue to follow along 🙂

About Christine

New mom, health enthusiast and optimist who loves life and is embarking on a journey to wellness.
This entry was posted in About Christine, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment